Sarah (Kelling) Vordenberg received her PharmD (2012) and Master of Public Health (2013) degrees from Northeast Ohio Medical University in Ohio.  She completed a PGY-1 community pharmacy residency with Kroger and Ohio Northern University.  She is recognized by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties as a board certified ambulatory care pharmacist.

Vordenberg joined the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy in 2013 as a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy.  She is the course coordinator for the first year Pharmacy Practice Skills I course and Self-Care course.  She maintains a transition of care practice in an ambulatory care geriatric clinic.  Her research interests include improving the appropriate use of medications among older adults via decision making related to deprescribing of medications, accessibility of outpatient clinical pharmacy services, and the scholarship of learning and teaching.  Vordenberg is involved in the American Pharmacists Association and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

Research Interests

  • Deprescribing medications among older adults

  • Accessibility of outpatient clinical pharmacy services

  • Scholarship of learning and teaching

Selected Publications

  • Vordenberg SE, Zikmund-Fisher BJ. Characteristics of older adults predict concern about stopping medications. J Am Pharm Assoc. [in press]

  • Vordenberg SE, Lindell V, Sheerer K, Settles A, Fan AL, Serlin DC, Parker-Featherstone E, Bernstein SJ, Choe HM. Improving hypertension control through a collaboration between an academic medical center and a chain community pharmacy. J Am Coll Clin Pharm. 2019;2(4):357-365.

  • Vordenberg SE, Smith MA, Diez HL, Remington TL, Bostwick JR.  Quality improvement of an established simulated patient program.  Innov Pharm. 2018;9(2):Article 19.

  • Lindell VA, Azar M, Telega E, Kelling SE.  Review of community based organization and community pharmacy partnerships for preventive care services.  Innov Pharm. 2018;9(2):Article 8.

  • Ambroziak K, Ibrahim N, Marshall VD, Kelling SE.  Virtual simulation to personalize student learning in a required pharmacy course.  Curr Pharm Teach Learn. 2018;10(6):750-756.

  • Zhang S, Soreide KK, Kelling SE, Bostwick JR.  Quality assurance processes for standardized patient programs.  Curr Pharm Teach Learn. 2018;10(4):523-528.

  • Bazzell B, Kelling S, Diez H, Klein K.  Identifying opportunities for improvement in safety and efficacy of community pharmacy immunization programs.  J Pharm Pract.  2018;Jan 1.  [Epub ahead of print]

  • Kelling SE.  Look-alike/sound-alike dietary supplements.  J Am Pharm Assoc.  In press.

  • Kelling SE, Walker PC, Mason JG, Zara N, Bleske BE.  Incorporation of a community pharmacy-based heart failure assessment tool by advanced pharmacy practice experience students.  J Am Pharm Assoc.  In press.

  • Kelling SE, Rondon-Begazo A, DiPietro Mager NA, Murphy B, Bright D.  Provision of clinical preventive services by community pharmacists.  Prev Chronic Dis 2016;13;160232.

  • Kelling SE, Pattin A, Abdulbaset S, Kilgore P, Erickson S.  Cross-sectional survey of perceived barriers among community pharmacists who do not immunize in Wayne County, Michigan.  Infect Dis Ther 2016;Sept 15.

  • Kelling SE.  Exploring accessibility of community pharmacy services.  Innov Pharm. 2015;6(3): Article 210.